What is the…

also known as: Kethubim

Meaning: the holy writings

This is a term which came into use early in the Christian church to denote the third division of the Old Testament Scriptures, called by the Jews Kethubim, i.e., “Writings

It consisted of five books, viz., Job, Proverbs, and Psalms, and the two books of Chronicles.

The ancient Jews classified their sacred books as the Law, the Prophets, and the Kethubim, or Writings. (See BIBLE.)

In the New Testament (Luke 24:44), we find three corresponding divisions, viz., the Law, the Prophets, and the Psalms.

More information