What is the…
Kingdom of Judah

When the disruption took place at Shechem, at first, only the Tribe of Judah followed the house of David. But very soon after the Tribe of Benjamin joined the Tribe of Judah, and Jerusalem became the capital of the new kingdom (Joshua 18:28), which was called the Kingdom of Judah.

It was very small in extent.

For the first 60 years, the kings of Judah aimed at re-establishing their authority over the kingdom of the other 10 tribes, so that there was a state of perpetual war between them. For the next 80 years, there was no open war between them.

For the most part, they were in friendly alliance, co-operating against their common enemies, especially against Damascus.

For about 150 years, the Kingdom of Judah had a somewhat checkered existence after the destruction of the Kingdom of Israel. Eventually, the Kingdom of Judah faced its final overthrow when the temple was destroyed by Nebuzaradan (B.C. 588), who was captain of Nebuchadnezzar's bodyguard (2 Kings 25:8-21).

The kingdom maintained a separate existence for 389 years. It occupied an area of 3,435 square miles.

Kings of the Kingdom of Judah

  1. Rehoboam
  2. Abijah
  3. Asa
  4. Jehoshaphat
  5. Jehoram
  6. Ahaziah
  7. Athaliah
  8. Joash
  9. Amaziah
  10. Uzziah
  11. Jotham
  12. Ahaz
  13. Hezekiah
  14. Manasseh
  15. Amon
  16. Josiah
  17. Jehoahaz
  18. Jehoiakim
  19. Jehoiachin
  20. Zedekiah

More information

Article Version: May 17, 2024