Princes of the Bible

The title of “prince” is generally applied to the chief men of the state, the king and the sons of kings. It is also applied to the following:


  1. The “princes of the provinces” (1 Kings 20:14) were the governors or lord-lieutenants of the provinces. So also the “princes” mentioned in Dan. 6:1, 3-4, 6-7 were the officers who administered the affairs of the provinces; the “satraps” (as rendered in Revised King James Version). These are also called “lieutenants” (Esther 3:12; 8:9; Revised King James Version, “satraps”).

  2. The promised Savior is called by DanielMessiah the PRINCE” (Hebrew: נָגִיד —transliteration: nagid ) (Daniel 9:25 —compare Acts 3:15; 5:31).

  3. The archangel Michael is called a “prince” by God in the Book of Daniel.

    Now at that time Michael, the great prince who stands guard over the sons of your people, will arise. And there will be a time of distress such as never occurred since there was a nation until that time; and at that time your people, everyone who is found written in the book, will be rescued.

    And many of those who sleep in the dust of the ground will awake, these to everlasting life, but the others to disgrace and everlasting contempt.

    And those who have insight will shine like the glow of the expanse of heaven, and those who lead the many to righteousness, like the stars forever and ever. —Dan. 12:1 NASB

List of Princes

  1. Abieezer
  2. Adrammelech
  3. Archangel
  4. Balak
  5. Cyrus
  6. Daniel
  7. Eliasaph
  8. Elishama
  9. Esarhaddon, Assyria
  10. Ezer
  11. First-born prince of Egypt killed (referred to as “the prince of archers”)
  12. Hur
  13. Israel
  14. Jehiel
  15. Jehoash
  16. Jehoram
  17. Jehoshaphat
  18. Joash
  19. Johanan
  20. Jonathan
  21. Jetheth
  22. Jethro
  23. Joab
  24. Maaseiah
  25. Magog
  26. Malchi-shua
  27. melchizedek
  28. Menahem
  29. Michael
  30. Moses
  31. Nadab
  32. Nahshon
  33. Nebaioth
  34. Nergal-sharezer
  35. Nethaneel
  36. Obadiah
  37. Oreb
  38. Pagiel
  39. Paltiel
  40. Pedahel
  41. Pedahzur
  42. Pelatiah
  43. Raamiah (Reelaiah)
  44. Rehoboam
  45. Rezon
  46. Samgar-nebo
  47. Satan, prince of darkness
  48. Shallum
  49. Sharezer, Assyria
  50. Shemaiah
  51. Shemuel
  52. Shephatiah
  53. Shethar
  54. Shiphtan
  55. Uzziah
  56. Xerxes
  57. Zachariah
  58. Ziza

More information

Article Version: April 16, 2024